$25.00 $15.00


Grapefruit Year Three Series, Record One (2013, GY3-1)

David Nance

Goldilocked hero and Unread Records cassette veteran, Nance recently stepped out of his burned out basement in Omaha, Nebraska and steeped himself in the city of angels, provoking collective grief and inciting small riots in the hearts of the house show universe here. Rocker and singer-songwriter from that catchy, shambolic mess called The Prairies, he also plays lead guitar and shouts in Simon Joyner’s band, the Ghosts.

Here he is making his vinyl debut, “Actor’s Diary,” paying debts and taking names. Recorded late at night alone in Joyner’s warehouse studio, Casa de los Fantasmas, over a two month period leading up to his west coast pilgrimage, this is anguish and expectation and meditations on what was, is, and might be in the artist’s life.

A certain Omaha sacred monster recently called Nance “the best bad guitarist he’s ever heard.” Channeling Jim Shepard, heroin-era Stones and New Zealand’s notorious Jefferies brothers through broken and poorly repaired gear, Nance rock is indeed the new pasture!


    Side 1

    1. Last Night's Testament
    2. Excerpt From An Actor's Diary
    3. One Must Succumb
    4. Too Many Words
    5. Glittering Lies
    6. Carpet

    Side 2

    1. Pedestrian Exodus
    2. Accept Nothing
    3. Maria Walks Down Leavenworth
    4. The Widow
    5. Hospital Blues