DESTROYER: Poison Season 2LP

$23.00 $20.00

This item is out of stock
Destroyer "Poison Season" 2xLP (Merge Records)

Poison Season opens with Vancouver native Dan Bejar swathed in Hunky Dory strings. He’s a dashboard Bowie surveying four wracked characters—Jesus, Jacob, Judy, Jack—simultaneously Biblical and musical theatre. This bittersweet, Times Square-set fanfare is reprised twice more on the record—first as swaying, saxophone-stoked “street-rock” and then finally as a curtain-closing reverie. Mr. Bejar has long displayed a chameleonic instinct for change while maintaining a unified aesthetic (rather than just pinballing between reference points). No two records sound the same, but they’re always uniquely Destroyer. His latest incarnation often appears to take sonic cues from a distinctly British (usually Scottish, to be precise) strain of sophisti-pop: you might hear traces of Aztec Camera, Prefab Sprout, Orange Juice, or The Blow Monkeys. These songs merge a casual literary brilliance with intense melodic verve, nimble arrangements, and a certain blue-eyed soul sadness. LP version packaged in gatefold jackets with download.

1. Times Square, Poison Season I
2. Dream Lover
3. Forces From Above
4. Hell
5. The River
6. Girl In A Sling
7. Times Square
8. Archer On The Beach
9. Midnight Meet The Rain
10. Solace's Bride
11. Bangkok
12. Sun In The Sky
13. Times Square, Poison Season II