DUNN, KYLE BOBBY: Kyle Bobby Dunn and the Infinite Sadness 2CD


This item is out of stock

Kyle Bobby Dunn "Kyle Bobby Dunn and the Infinite Sadness" 2xCD

Based in Montreal, Kyle Bobby Dunn has been producing elegant and refined works of ambient minimalism for the better part of a decade. His two lengthy and critically lauded collections for the Low Point label, “A Young Person’s Guide…” and “Bring Me the Head of…,” established him as a force to be reckoned with in the current epoch of drone/ambient music. Indeed, he is a rare artist whose compositions offer listeners wonder, sadness and pathos in equal measure, and are executed with a precision and effortlessness that eludes most musicians working in the genre. With “Kyle Bobby Dunn and the Infinite Sadness,” he has produced what is undoubtedly his most focused and emotionally charged work thus far, a rich, expansive collection of slowly unfurling beauty that stretches out over the course of more than two hours. Dunn’s trademark guitar swells and slow-moving loops are present here, but feel clearer and with a renewed sense of purpose and poise. He recorded source material for the album in various Canadian towns, including Belleville and Dorset, and processed and arranged the recordings at L’auberge de Dunn Studios in Montreal while, in his own words, “reflecting heavily on the gorgeous feet of a certain French woman and binging on strong beers and cheese.” From the opening salvo, “Ouverture de Peter Hodge Transport,” Dunn establishes a haunting, lovelorn trajectory that is developed through pieces such as the strikingly beautiful “Boring Foothills of Foot Fetishville” and the poignant closer “And the Day is Dunn and I Can Only Think of You,” titles which exhibit well his trademark sense of (black) humor. A powerful statement and what is at once the artist’s most complex, complete and accessible album to date, we’re pleased and honored to present “Kyle Bobby Dunn and the Infinite Sadness.”

1. Ouverture Peter Hodge Transport
2. An Excrement Suite for Voices Lost Again
3. Boring Foothills of Foot Fetishville
4. Variations on a Theme by St-Dipshit
5. Rue de Guy-Mathieu
6. Saison Triste on Lac of Baies
7. Mon Retard
8. Confessions of the Mildly Miserable
9. La Failure et la Chance
10. Where Circles Never Become Circles
11. Duckfaced Fantasy
12. Macleod (And the Victims of Deception)
13. Spem in Alium and Her Unable
14. Ghostkeeping Verses, I-IV
15. Power of None
16. The Same (Drunk In Quebec & In Love Club Remix)
17, Ontop of Timeless Hour
18. Those Satisfactions are Permanent
19. And the Day is Dunn and I Can Only Think of You