McPherson, Donald: Some Songs LP (Ltd Ed of 200, New Zealand Rare Experimental 90's)


This item is out of stock

Donald McPherson: Some Songs LP (PLANAM, Italy)

Release date 9/27/19

Alga Marghen present a reissue of Donald McPherson's Some Songs LP, self-released in 1994 in an edition of 20 lathe-cut records but expanded to include extra tracks taken from the Decap (1995) and The Trees (1996) 7" lathe editions as well, both limited to 20 and 30 copies respectively. As Stefan Neville, coordinator for this edition, suggests: "... the first time I heard anything about Donald McPherson was when my friend David Muir told me excitedly about this guitarist from Ravensbourne who could play really beautifully properly but also just as wonderfully wrongly. I first heard him playing a rare live performance in Dunedin in about 1997. It remains one of the most heavily self-deprecating sets I've ever seen. Abandoning songs halfway through, Donald couldn't contain his belief that his efforts were worthless and that he hadn't practiced as much as we were idiots for listening. He made a good show of appearing not to care but the quality of the few pieces of music he did play showed a personality and idiosyncratic natural ability that could only come from the most meaningful places. And he was totally right... we were idiots tolerating any old shit, just as he was an idiot for being so ridiculously good. Donald is most well-known for the free range guitar instrumentals of his Bramble CD (Metonymic, 2001) and the Vinegar & Rum (WEAVIL 012CD/LP, 2006) collaboration with Tetuzi Akiyama, but it's his 1994 album Some Songs that his friends and fans hold in the highest regard. It sparkles with beauty, wit, and wonder and it crumbles under its own self-sabotaging cynicism. Lyrical flowing folk melodies with playful irritations and grafted on textures, bare-boned hyper-sensitive pop songs, and scrambled spontaneous sketches. Donald always sounds to me like he is resisting his talents as they are too embarrassing, but at the same time embracing the chance to express everything he is feeling no matter how awkward or humiliating it may be. It seems like such a crippling difficult perspective to create from but Some Songs always sounds playful, honest, humble and hopeful to me!"  Edition of 200.

Track Listing:
A1. Buckerdreams Luckermine
A2. Things Ain't Dead
A3. Wishful Thinking
A4. Every Blue Moon
A5. Fragile Cargo
A6. Floundering
A7. The Hippo Song
A8. Above The Nut
A9. Shadow On Yr Heart
A10. Lightweight 20th C. Stairclimbers
A11. Thought Fatigue
B1. Someday
B2. Instr '92
B3. Lullaby Shit
B4. Wee Willie Wank
B5. Decap
B6. Window-Hole
B7. Giant Raindrops Hitting Something Heartless
B8. The Trees
B9. Catarrh