BAIRD SISTERS: Until You Find Your Green SOLD OUT


This item is out of stock


Grapefruit Year Two Series, Record Two (2012, GY2-2)

Until You Find Your Green was recorded at Laura’s farm house home over the course of a few weeks in April 2012. In a departure from the live performance approach of their previous two albums, At Home (2003) and Lonely Town (2008), Until You Find Your Green makes use of multi-track recording, allowing the sisters to experiment and embellish their music with additional instrumentation and the occasional field recording. Around a base of guitar and banjo, they’ve added currents of flute, cello, fiddle, mandolin, upright bass, drums, vocalise, electric guitar, mockingbird and a chorus of crickets.

All songs by Laura and Meg Baird except for “A Soldier Being Tired” (Traditional.)

About the Tracks

Laura & Meg Baird: While making this record, we felt taken back to our earliest recordings in the early 90’s—when we would hole up with a Tascam 4-track cassette recorder (Portastudio 246, R.I.P.), and had an assortment of homemade cassettes-only releases available at open mics scattered through central New Jersey. We’d really like to thank the Grapefruit label for inviting us to work together on something that brought us both so close to that time and process.



    SIDE A
    1. On and On (3:36)
    2. New Green Place (10:20)
    3. Looking at Things up Close (2:45)
    4. Towpath Drill (2:25)
    SIDE B
    1. Where the Waters Flow (4:12)
    2. After the Work Is Done (2:34)
    3. Tracks (2:34)
    4. Until the Bottle Is Dry (1:45)
    5. A Soldier Being Tired (3:22)
    6. Going West with Secrets (3:30)
    ©2012, Laura and Meg Baird